The first winner of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 was Lys Assia with the song Refrain. She won for the hosting country Switzerland.

In 1957 the Dutch singer Corry Brokken won with the song Net als toen.

André Claveau won in 1958 for France. His song was called Dors, mon amour.

In 1959 The Netherlands won the competition for the second time. Teddy Scholten came in first with her song Een beetje.