In 1970 Dana won with the song All kinds of everything for Ireland.

Séverine was the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1971. Her song was called Un banc, un arbre, une rue. She won for Monaco.

In 1972 Vicky Léandros won for Luxembourg with the song Après toi.

Luxembourg won two times in a row in the 1970’s. Anne-Marie David was the winner in 1973 with her song Tu te reconnaîtras.

In 1974, the legendary band ABBA won the Eurovision Song Contest. Their song Waterloo became a worldwide hit. They were also the first band to win the competition.

Because of ABBA, bands became much more popular in Europe. The Dutch group Teach-In was the next to win the competition. They sang Ding-A-Dong.

Brotherhood of Man was the third group to win the Eurovision Song Contest. They performed their song Save your kisses for me in the 1976 competition, representing The United Kingdom.

The French singer Marie Myriam won in 1977 with the song L’oiseau et l’enfant.

A-Ba-Ni-Bi was a Hebrew song performed by the Israelic group Izhar Cohen & The Alphabeta. It was the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1978.

Israel also won in 1979 with the song Hallelujah, sung by Gali Atari & Milk and Honey.