Johnny Logan won in 1980 for Ireland with the song What’s another year.

In 1981 Bucks Fizz won for The United Kingdom with Making your mind up.

German singer Nicole won in 1982 with the song Ein bißchen Frieden.

In 1983 Corinne Hermès won for Luxembourg with her song Si la vie est cadeau.

The Swedish brothers Herrey won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1984 with the song Diggi-loo, Diggi-ley about their golden shoes.

The energetic singers from Bobbysocks won in 1985 with La Det Swinge for Norway.

The only time Belgian ended first in the competition was in 1986. The 13-year-old won with the song J’aime la vie in which she sang that she was already 15.

Johnny Logan won for the second time in 1987 for Ireland with Hold me now.

Famous singer Céline Dion won in 1988 for Switzerland with Ne partez pas sans moi.

Yugoslavia won in 1989 with the song Rock me baby performed by Riva.