Alva – Arrows

I like this song. It has a good melody and the lyrics are approachable, you can easily sing along. I hope she will sing as good on stage. I also want to see what kind of performance she will bring. But for now, a good review from me. 7/10

Anni Saikku – Reach Out for the Sun

I don’t really like her voice, it’s not that strong for the high notes. The dubstep (kind of) part in the chorus is so 2013. It’s not something for this time, dubstep is not so popular anymore. It makes you think that the song will lift up, but it just doesn’t. There’s something missing to make it good. 5/10

Club La Persé – My Little World

This is so bad that it becomes good. The vocals are just bad, that’s obvious. But that’s the point, I guess. The song is all about weirdness, you can see that only in the way the band dresses. I like the “tu du du du” part, that gets stuck in your head so much. It’s a more uptempo song but that’s something I like. I don’t know how the Finnish people will react to this but if they want to stand out on the Eurovision stage, this is a good choice. 7/10

Emma – Circle Of Light

I like the build up of this song. It starts of slowly but you get that there is more to come. The vocals are good. The melody kind of reminds me of Mumford and Sons, it has a folk thing about it. But the song is too forgettable in my opinion. I like it though but it’s not ideal for Eurovision, I think. 7/10

Günther & D’Sanz – Love Yourself

This is pure Eurovision trash. But it’s an okay song. I can already see how this will work out on stage: with a lot of glitter and special effects. I just doubt that this will score high points from the juries. Not a winner for me. 5/10

Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies – Cavemen

Normally I like song that are rock-‘n-roll but this is not my thing. I don’t like the voice of the lead singer. And I don’t get the part of the ladies. I don’t really see what they bring to the song. I guess on stage they will have a more relevant part in the performance. But for now, I don’t see it doing well. 3/10

Lauri Yrjölä – Helppo elämä

The Finnish is amazing, and I really like it that he dared to sing in his native language. The song is really good, the melody is uptempo but still slow enough for him to sing in a more quiet way. He doesn’t “scream” at any part in the song. I particularly like the melody of the chorus. But I fear that Europe won’t like this, partly because of the Finnish. If it wins the UMK, I think they will put the song in English which could actually ruin it. We’ll see, I like it the way it is. 7/10

My First Band – Paradise

It starts off really good with the clapping and whistling part. That comes back in the chorus, but the rest of the song kind of lets me down. It has potential but it doesn’t bring it. It’s suitable for the radio, but I don’t see it working out on stage. 6/10

Norma John – Blackbird

By just seeing the picture, I thought it would be a darker song, like Never Forget (Iceland 2012) by Greta Salóme and Jónsi. I don’t like the actual song, to be honest. It’s too slow, especially for Eurovision. I don’t really get the part of the guy in the picture. That will require some more research. This song is not for me. 2/10

Zühlke – Perfect Villain

She does have a powerful voice, that’s something I can’t deny. I’m just afraid that it will come over as screaming while singing live. I don’t like the melody. And the message of the song is not something suitable for Eurovision. 4/10

