Tonight Slovenia will decide their representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv. Eight songs will be performed. Here’s what I think of the songs and who I see as the ideal winner of EMA 2017.

KING FOO with Wild Ride

I don’t like her voice. And the song has some good parts in it, it’s not completely a rock song. It has some optimistic influences in it. It’s certainly special but I don’t really like it. I don’t think this is going to win EMA 2017 and I think that’s a good thing. This wouldn’t work at Eurovision. 2/10

Tim Kores with Open Fire

I don’t like watching him, he gives me such an awkward feeling. He has to do these moves but dancing doesn’t really work for this guy. It looks weird. And I don’t like the song either, it’s not that I hate it but I just don’t have a lot to say about it. Nothing special. 3/10

Omar Naber with On My Way

He looks good on stage, like I believe him when he’s singing something. I believe what he’s saying, the message of the song. But the song itself is so ordinary. I don’t want to listen to this over and over again. It’s not a song I want to sing along to. 3/10

Nika Zorjan with Fse

There are some parts of this song that I like and others that I really don’t get. The chorus is great and has a good melody but then the rest of the song doesn’t really say anything to me. It’s not uptempo, so they can’t bring in some dancers. I don’t really know how this would look, it’s kind of stupid to just stand there. This is not a winner. 4/10

Raiven with Zažarim

This song is really original and quite mysterious but I don’t really like it. They can create an amazing performance with this song but I just don’t like listening to it. She has a great voice, though. But I hope this doesn’t win. 4/10

Nuška Drašček with Flower In The Snow

This is a really powerful song. It has some similarities with Skyfall by Adele. This would do so well with the juries but I don’t think it would make Slovenia qualify to the final. It needed something more to make it really good. It’s a decent song and her vocals are great but it’s not perfect for me. 5/10

Sell Out with Ni Panike

A lot of people seem to really hate this song. And I get why, they don’t look good on stage. The performance is a mess. Everyone is just running around. But I just can’t help it and love this song. I know it’s weird but I think this could be one of those songs that everyone hates in the beginning but then the more they listen to it, the more they like it. This is a song that grows on you. I think they can bring a lot of fun to the Eurovision Song Contest. I wouldn’t mind if this wins, but I don’t see it happening. 7/10

BQL with Heart of Gold

For me, this is the best song of EMA 2017. They are great singers and I’m in love with the etnic sounds. I just wish the entire song was like this. That’s something I want to hear at Eurovision, and it’s something that’s popular all over Europe. They still have a lot of work on the performance, I don’t really know what the purpose of the guitar is. They would have to change this. And I hope they add some special effects so that the guy with the guitar can do something on stage because him just standing there is kind of bothering me. But this is a song with potential. 8/10

