CHISINAU – SunStroke Project has won the Moldovan national final and will represent their country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv. They won O melodie pentru Europa with the song Hey Mamma by a combination of jury votes and televotes.

SunStroke Project entered in the Eurovision Song Contest back in 2010, where they finshed 22nd. Their song Run Away featuring Olia Tira became very popular after the competition, mostly because of the Epic Sax Guy, a specific part of the song that got millions of views on YouTube.

This year they will represent Moldova with the song Hey Mamma. I was really hoping for this to win. I think they really deserved a better place back in 2010. And I hope they will have their revenge in 2017. This song is really good and I expect an amazing performance from them. The song is suitable for the radio but also to be performed live. I’m pretty confident that they will create a big show, that suits the song. For me, this is top 5 material. And I think a lot of Eurovision fans will be glad that they are back, so I guess this will get so many votes. I just hope the juries will acknowledge their talent as well because they didn’t receive a lot of points in 2010. If the juries weren’t there, I think this would have a big chance at winning. So I guess we will have to wait and see how this works out, but I will definitely support them. 9/10

