CROATIA – Jacques Houdek will sing the song My Friend at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, representing Croatia.

First 8 seconds of the song, I was like FINALLY. Finally a piece of art, real music. And then there’s this quote, where he’s just talking. I didn’t know what was happening, that didn’t suit the first 8 seconds at all. Then he starts singing in a sweet way, and I really got this 90’s ballad feeling. And then to top it all, he starts singing Italian opera. I don’t know what is happening with this song but I love it. You get the feeling that there are four singers while there’s only one. They have put all these different styles together but in a way it works. I just don’t know how this song will be performed, how will he change his voice during a live performance. Does it really go that easy? I’m really excited to see the performance. For me, the song is great. And it’s one of those songs that will either fail massively or will be in the top 5. It’s such a precious song and just really outstanding. If the song would have been entirely opera, this would have been my number 1. But inspite that it isn’t it’s still a really good song. Didn’t expect this from Croatia. 8/10

 

