On the 11th of March Iceland will choose their representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The winner of Söngvakeppnin 2017 will perform their song in Kyiv. Seven entries will compete for the title. Here is my top 7.

Before I discuss all the songs, I want to say that Iceland really should bring a song in Icelandic. I don’t get why they make two versions of each song. I know that it’s more international when in English, but singing in a native language really brings originality to the Eurovision Song Contest. I hope they change this in the next few years. Most of the time, changing the song to an English version ruins the magic it has.

Hildur Kristin Sefánsdóttir with Bammbaramm

Her voice just isn’t strong enough for the song. It doesn’t work and I’m not a big fan of non-existing words either. I think that’s just stupid. For me, this isn’t a quality song and it won’t work at Eurovision. 3/10

Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson with Make Your Way Back Home

This is a nice song but not something for Eurovision. I don’t see this being performed on a big stage. I do really like his voice, his vocals are the best part of the song. 4/10

Svala Björgvinsdóttir with Paper

I know that a lot of people want this song to win. But it’s not really my type of song. She’s a great singer but the song is not original enough. I’ve heard songs like that before. It’s not something new and I think that’s what Iceland needs after failing to qualify to the final for the last two years. 5/10

Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir with Again

I’m really intriged by her voice, I would like to hear more from her. He sings good as well. They are a really talented duo. The song is also nice. I actually don’t have anything bad to say about this. I just don’t think this is what Iceland needs. There are already plenty of songs like this in the competition. So I don’t think this would stand out. But it’s still good. 6/10

Aron Brink with Hypnotised

At first, this was my favourite of the competition. But then I listened to the live version and I was quite disappointed. His voice wasn’t strong enough to carry the entire song. There was too much need of background singers. Unfortunately, because I think the song is really happy and has a summer vibe. It’s still a good song, but not the ideal winner for Iceland. 7/10

Aron Hannes Emilsson with Tonight

This is the second summer song of the Icelandic national selection. I prefer this one over Hypnotised because this performance was slightly better. The live vocals were just more suitable for a big stage. His voice doesn’t disappear in the music. 7/10

Daði Freyr Pétursson with Is This Love?

At first, I didn’t really like this. But then I saw the live performance from the semi-final and I was convinced. It’s so silly that it becomes good. This performance is so memorable, like you can’t forget seeing this. Or hearing it, because the song is actually good. I do prefer the Icelandic version (like always) but the English isn’t bad either. I think this is the best choice for Iceland to stand out and bring something different to the Eurovision Song Contest. This could be the funny dark horse. 8/10

