Sweden will choose it’s representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 tonight. Twelve artists will compete in the national final of Melodifestivalen 2017.

Owe Thörnqvist with Boogieman Blues

I really like this style of music. He does stand out because of his age but I don’t think this will win the Melodifestivalen. I would be really surprised if it does. For me, there are so many things going on on stage. It’s too much. 5/10

Nano with Hold On

This would be quite unusual for Sweden. I’m not really sure about the song, though. It’s like more something that would have been popular in 2013. It’s not that new, in my opinion. I don’t know if this would work. 5/10

Lisa Ajax with I Don’t Give A

Sweden is really good at commercial songs. I just think it’s kind of boring to watch her sing. There’s nothing more to see than her standing on stage. That kind of disappoints me. But I get that they can’t really put dancers next to her, that wouldn’t suit the song. 5/10

Mariette with A Million Years

This song isn’t bad but it’s not refreshing. It feels like she is Loreen 2.0 and the song is not special enough for me. The performance is really nice though, but I expect nothing less from Sweden. 6/10

Anton Hagman with Kiss You Goodbye

Nice song with good vocals. But nothing special, it’s not Eurovision for me. And especially not from a country like Sweden. 6/10

Wiktoria with As I Lay Me Down

I really like her voice, probably the most of all the contestants. The song is rather disappointing. It’s not a ballad and not a dance song either. I like the parts where the music is almost gone and it’s just the vocals, that gives an anthem feeling which I really like. But the rest is not that good. I don’t really know what I should do while listening to this song, you can’t really dance to it. Nice try but this isn’t a winner. 6/10

Benjamin Ingrosso with Good Lovin’

I don’t like his voice. The song is nice, it has this Bruno Mars feeling, something I didn’t expect from this guy. I don’t really see it at Eurovision because I think there are better songs. But it’s okay, I wouldn’t mind if this wins. I just don’t see it happening. 6/10

Boris René with Her Kiss

I really like the retro sound of this song. That’s something I enjoy. But again, I don’t see this song being performed on a big stage. 7/10

Ace Wilder with Wild Child

This is a perfect song for the radio. I don’t think this would work on a big stage. It’s not that special. It has nice sounds, so I like the song but I think Sweden could do better than this. 7/10

Felix, Oscar & Omar with Gotta Thing About You

This is such a typical boyband song. I really like it though, but I don’t think Sweden will choose this. I would like to hear more from these guys but not yet at Eurovision. I do have to give extra points for that performance, that was spot on! 7/10

Robin Bengtsson with I Can’t Go On

This is a performance! The staging is really nice and is ready for Eurovision. The song really reminds me of Justin Timberlake, it’s like his style. I don’t really know what I should think about this song. People probably expect this from Sweden and it works perfectly. But I think he looks so confident, don’t know if that’s part of the performance or not but it kind of bothers me. I just think that this is too predictable. 7/10

Jon Henrik Fjällgren featuring Aninia with En värld full av strider

This is by far the most original song of this year’s selection. If Sweden really wants to surprise at Eurovision, they send this song. No one will expect this kind of song. The way he sings is just amazing, I was so impressed. I hope Sweden dares to be different and takes the risk to send something special. 8/10

 

Here’s a recap of all the songs, since YouTube won’t let me copy the official full version videos of the songs. Hope these small parts make my opinion clear.

 

