MOSCOW – Julia Samoylova will represent Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv with the song Flame is Burning. She was chosen by an internal selection.

I don’t really know what to say about this. It sure isn’t what I expected from Russia. I don’t really want to say anything bad about her but for me it seems like Russia wants to get the sympathy vote this year. I don’t like when countries sent someone with a handicap. I mean, no matter how good singers they are you keep seeing them with the handicap. And it’s no difference with Julia for Russia, you can’t unsee her wheelchair. Probably Russia is going to say that her being in a wheelchair had nothing to do with choosing her but of course it had. I hate when countries try to make their own statements. They would say that disabled people still can be great artists, and they can, don’t get me wrong. But when there’s a voting system, you’re almost obliged to at least give them some points as well. I mean, this sounds cruel but that’s the way a lot of people think. For me, sending Julia is just hoping for pity votes. And I don’t like the song either, so bad job this year Russia! 3/10

