Today I’m going to give a first real review on Bulgaria’s song Beautiful Mess by Kristian Kostov.

Semi-final: 2

Draw: 16

Do I think it will qualify: YES

Do I want it to qualify: YES

At first I didn’t really get why a lot of people put him so high on their list. I mean, I do like the song. It’s not a regular ballad, I like the use of instruments and sounds. It gives the song a more etnic feeling. And I like his vocals as well, I saw him at the London Pre Party and at Israel Calling and I thought both of those performances were good. The song isn’t upbeat but he still manages to move around and it seems like he really is inside his song and he believes what he’s singing. I think that’s a really important factor to be successful at Eurovision. But for me, I still think it’s a bit weird to see him and to hear his voice at the same time. It just doens’t fit. I don’t expect a 17-year old to sing this song. I respect him for it because he really has a mature voice but I think he needs a bit more experience. Since the song is so popular, I really expect Bulgaria to qualify. I mean, there’s no doubt about that. But I don’t see this winning at all. There are so many things missing for me to see this as a Eurovision winner. I think it will end up somewhere around place 5 or 6 in the grand final.

