Today I’m going to give a first real review on Croatia’s song My Friend by Jacques Houdek.

Semi-final: 2

Draw: 12

Do I think it will qualify: NO

Do I want it to qualify: YES

The first time I listened to this song I gave it 8/10. I thought it was a special song, very unique with all the different styles and voices combined. I think the song is underrated and I don’t expect it to qualify. I’m still excited to see how he’s going to make this song work on stage, especially while singing live. I don’t see how he’s going to change his voice so easily like in the audio version. I think that the way he does that and the way his performance will look on stage, will decide wheter he goes through to the final or not. So it really depends on the performance with this song. He’s an opera singer so I expect him to have no difficulties at all with his vocals. I mean, he’s a good singer and that won’t change at Eurovision. It’s just the combination of vocals and performance that is needed to be successful at the contest. Right now, I would rate the song 6/10 because it’s not that special to me like it used to be, after listening to it so many times. But I still think it’s a good song and I would like to see it in the final.

