Today I’m going to give a first real review on Czech Republic’s song My Turn by Martina Bárta.

Semi-final: 1

Draw: 14

Do I think it will qualify: NO

Do I want it to qualify: NO

I think the song isn’t that bad. It’s a ballad, but it has a sweetness about it. It’s not the usual female ballad with dramatic vocals. I do think this is a song that grows on you, it needs multiple listens in order to really appreciate it. Therefore I’m certain that it won’t qualify. If you hear this song for the first time, you don’t love it immediately. And I don’t expect the performance to be that great that the song becomes memorable. Czech Republic has to perform 14th in the first semi-final, right inbetween Iceland and Cyprus. I think their placing is a good thing. It’s inbetween two completely different songs, so you can’t compare them to each other. But still, this won’t make it through to the final.

 

