Today I’m going to give a first real review on Iceland’s song Paper by Svala.

Semi-final: 1

Draw: 13

Do I think it will qualify: NO

Do I want it to qualify: NO

I don’t really like the song. She’s a good singer and a great artist and all that, but the song doesn’t really move me. The song needs better staging for it to be great. That’s the only way Iceland will be able to qualify. Her singing also reminds me of Robyn, a Swedish singer. Maybe that’s why I don’t really like it. I like the sound of her voice, but it’s not original enough for me because I always think of the similarities she has with Robyn. For me, Hear Them Calling is a better song than Paper, but Iceland wasn’t able to qualify with it last year. So I don’t know how it’s going to work out this year. I don’t expect them to qualify this year. They have to perform 13th, right after Moldova and right before Czech Republic, two completely different songs. I don’t know, I think people will forget about Iceland after watching this semi-final.

