Today I’m going to give a first real review on Italy’s song Occidentali’s Karma by Francesco Gabbani.

Semi-final: none

Apparently this will be the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. Right now everyone seems to like this song. That way people have high expectations of Italy at Eurovision. And I just hope that Italy won’t be able to fulfill those expectations. I don’t really know why people put this song first. Is it because of the song, or because of the meaning of the song, or just the stupid gorilla? Because I must say, the gorilla thing is a nice move. That’s memorable, no one can forget a man in a gorilla suit. But if this wins, it’s like no one has to be serious anymore at Eurovision. This reminds me of Russia 2012, that was another stupid statement. And they finished second that year. I don’t mind a little craziness at Eurovision, but the fact that people take it in consideration that a thing like that can win, that’s beyond my mind. But I must say, Italy this year is more than just the gorilla. Francesco is actually a very good singer, I like his voice. And the song is decent, I just don’t like the whole irony thing. He’s calling humans naked apes, I think that’s funny but I can imagine that a lot of people won’t get that when they just listen to this once. And I don’t really know if people who only listen to it once, like it as much as the Eurovision-fans that know the meaning behind it. I think this is an iconic entry for Italy, but I can’t help but think that it’s not a deserved winner. I still hope it’s not Italy at number 1 in the end. We’ll see how it works out, but Francesco won’t have my vote.

