Today I’m going to give a first real review on Moldova’s song Hey Mamma! by SunStroke Project.

Semi-final: 1

Draw: 12

Do I think it will qualify: YES

Do I want it to qualify: YES

I was so happy to see that SunStroke Project was coming back to the Eurovision Song Contest. I really liked them back in 2010 and I still do seven years later. I think that’s the main reason I liked their song Hey Mamma! so much. It reminded me of 2010 and it really gave me a nostalgic feeling. But now after weeks of listening to the song, I think the song is actually good. I’ve stopped comparing it to Run Away and right now I see it as a completely different song. I expect an amazing performance from them at Eurovision and I hope a lot of fans will be as happy as me that they are back and will reward them with their vote. I always have high expectations of returning artists because it feels like I already know them and I know how good they are. I think their strength this year, compared to 2010, is that they are aware of the popularity of Epic Sax Guy and that they are now able to give him a more prominent role. Back then they had Olia Tira, and now Sergei will do the vocals all by himself. I think that’s better, because that way it’s not completely the same. They still have their famous sound but it’s with a twist. You can’t help but get happy when listening to this song and I really believe that’s needed at Eurovision. Moldova will perform 12th, right after Poland. This is a great placing for them. You get a serious performance from Poland, followed by the fun of Moldova. If I were to decide, this would definitely end up somewhere in the top 5.

