Today I’m going to give a first real review on Portugal’s song Amar Pelos Dois by Salvador Sobral.

Semi-final: 1

Draw: 9

Do I think it will qualify: YES

Do I want it to qualify: YES

This is my winner! At first I had Hungary at number 1, but I couldn’t deny my feelings for this song. From the first time I listened to it, I loved it. This is the only song that really moves me. There is so much emotion in this song and that really hits me. I think that you either love this song or you hate it, it’s at the top of your list or completely at the bottom. But last year with Jamala, it was exactly the same. You loved it or you hated it. So I have high expectations of my favorite. I’m hoping for a place in the top 5. Since a few weeks Portugal seems to become more and more popular with the bookmakers, so maybe they have the same feeling that I do about this song. I think it’s so refreshing to hear a song in Portuguese, especially in a semi-final with only English songs. I think that will give a special effect to the performance. There will be eight English songs, then Portugal, then again eight English songs. Being in the exact middle of the semi-final is so good, I couldn’t wish for a better placing. Portugal has to perform inbetween Azerbaijan and Greece, and I’m really happy with that. Those two songs are completely different and almost opposites from Portugal. So I’m really convinced that he’ll qualify. I get such a nostalgic feeling from this song, it’s like from the 50’s or 60’s and Salvador really owns the song. At first I thought it was a bit weird how he acted on stage but now I can just see the emotion he has while singing. I believe every single word he’s singing even though I can’t understand Portuguese. This is the only song in the entire competition that gives me goosebumps so for me it’s the true winner.

