Today I’m going to give a first real review on Russia’s song Flame Is Burning by Julia Samoylova.

Semi-final: 2

Draw: 3

Do I think it will qualify: YES

Do I want it to qualify: NO

Russia hasn’t responded to the satellite opportunity, given by the EBU. I dont’ think they should agree to do that, it will really make them lose their credibility. And I don’t think Ukraine will give in and let them participate in the normal way. I had a bad feeling about Russia entering this year right from the start, when they announced Julia as their representative. I think they should just withdraw this year. But now, about the song. I’m actually starting to like it, it gets stuck in my head from time to time. I don’t really like her vocals,. I mean, it’s mostly backing vocals that you hear but I don’t like it anyway. If they do enter via satellite I’m convinced that Russia will qualify because of the jury votes and I think a lot of people will feel sympathy for Julia because of her situation of because of the satellite thing. I’d rather have the EBU put an end to this fued because I think there will be a lot of hustle around it in Kyiv if Russia does participate.

